Renewal of Minor Source Air Permits

On February 20, 2015, LDEQ promulgated amendments to LAC 33:III.503 (AQ266) which established a regulatory framework setting forth maximum terms and renewal procedures for minor source air permits.  Per R.S. 30:2023(A), permits “shall have, as a matter of law, a term of not more than ten years.”  Louisiana’s air quality regulations were previously silent with respect to the term of minor source air permits. 


According to the final rule, permits issued to minor sources of air emissions shall have an effective term of 10 years, unless a shorter period is provided in the permit.  Any revision or reopening of the permit, except for administrative amendments and approvals to relocate, shall establish the start of a new permit term.


Applications to renew existing permits that will expire (or would have expired) on or before December 31, 2015, shall be due per the following schedule.  These permits are listed in the file below.  In order to manage the increased workload, LDEQ has staggered the due dates such that these permit applications can be processed efficiently, without unduly hindering the processing of applications for new sources and permit modifications.

§    October 1, 2015:   permits that were issued or last modified prior to January 1, 1999.

§    October 1, 2016:   permits that were issued or last modified after January 1, 1999, but prior to January 1, 2003.

§    October 1, 2017:   permits that were issued or last modified after January 1, 2003, but prior to January 1, 2006.


Applications to renew existing permits that will expire after January 1, 2016, shall be submitted in accordance with LAC 33:III.503.C.3.a.  Such applications must be submitted at least 6 months prior to their date of expiration and, therefore, will be due as early as July 2, 2015 (for permits issued on January 2, 2006).  These permits are not addressed in the file below.


In order to renew an existing permit, owners or operators should complete the “Application for Approval of Emissions of Air Pollutants from Minor Sources” in its entirety.  The application forms are available on LDEQ’s website.


Owners or operators of facilities that have ceased operations or that no longer require an air permit per the statutory exemption described at LAC 33:III.501.B.2.d should request a permit rescission using the “Application for Approval of Miscellaneous Air Permitting Activities,” which is also available on the aforementioned webpage.


File: Minor Source Renewal Application Due Dates


The above file excludes permits for which an application is currently pending before LDEQ.

Dates of administrative amendments and approvals to relocate reflect the date that the underlying permit was issued.


Questions may be directed to Bryan D. Johnston of the Air Permits Division at (225) 219-3450.

Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality 602 N. Fifth Street Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Call or e-mail a hotline · Office Address/Phone listing · Locate a DEQ employee
Call 1-866-896-LDEQ or e-mail our Customer Service Center with questions or comments