Public Notice Information Public Notice Information

Public Notice Information

Public Notice Information for Draft/Proposed Technically Complete Applications

This table reflects regulation information / requests related to the timing (comment period) / publication (newspaper, radio...etc) for each type of different media permit.

Media
Type
Publishing Newspaper(s)
Regulation
Comment Period
Public Notice Payments
Hearing Public Notice
Air
Proposed Permit

Official State Journal, Local Newspaper

Proposed 30 days, & 30 days for neighboring states
DEQ
N/A
PSD
Official State Journal,
Local Newspaper
PSD 30 days  & 60 days for Neighboring States
DEQ
N/A
Hearing
Official State Journal,
Local Newspaper
Same as above
Comments can end at the closing of hearing
DEQ
30 days prior to the hearing
Hazardous Waste
Draft
Official State Journal,
Local Newspaper,
Local Broadcast
45 days
Facility
N/A
Final
Official State Journal,
Local Newspaper,
Local Broadcast
For applicant appeals
La.  R.S.) 30:2024
 
For Public appeals La. R.S. 30:2050.21
30 days for appeals   After letter received by facility or commentors
Facility
N/A
Hearing
Official State Journal,
Local Newspaper,
Local Broadcast
Comment period can end at the closing of the hearing
 
Facility
45 days prior to the hearing
Solid Waste
Technically Complete
Official State Journal,
Local Newspaper
30 days
DEQ*
*Facility - if for Modifications
N/A 
Hearing
Official State Journal,
Local Newspaper
End of comment period 30 days after hearing.
DEQ*
*Facility-public notice of public hearing for Receipt of Tire Application

-20 days prior to the hearing

-For tires receipt, twice in newspaper prior to the last 10 days before the hearing

Water
(LPDES)
Draft LPDES Permit 
Local Newspaper
minimum 30 days
Facility
N/A
Draft General LPDES Permit
Eight major news papers in the State.
minimum 30 days
Facility
N/A
Hearing
Local Newspaper
Comment period can end at the closing of the hearing
Facility
30 days prior to the hearing
Water
(Water Quality Certification)
Draft Water Quality Certification
State Official Journal & Local Newspaper
10 days for comment
Corps of Engineers / Facility
N/A
Hearing
State Official Journal & Local Newspaper
End of comment period 30 days after hearing.
Corps of Engineers / Facility
30 days prior to  hearing
 
  • All notices are posted on the DEQ Public Notice Webpage.
  • All notices are sent out to all those who requested to be on the public notice mailing list as a hard copy or via email to the list server subscribers.
  • The comment period used is the minimum regulatory requirement.
  • The Advocate is the official state journal.
  • Sometimes as a service and if helpful, the public the notice is published in additional papers.
  • Specific detailed requirements apply to some notices.
  • Notices are sent to the Louisiana  State Senators, Representatives and other Governmental Authorities as required by the regulations or as needed.
  • Local newspapers are newspapers of major circulation in the affected area.
  • Public Hearing expenses are paid by DEQ (only public notice expenses are paid for according to regulations).

 

Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality 602 N. Fifth Street Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Call or e-mail a hotline · Office Address/Phone listing · Locate a DEQ employee
Call 1-866-896-LDEQ or e-mail our Customer Service Center with questions or comments