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In accordance with LAC 33:VII.10519.E, “Standard and Responsibilities of Generators of Waste Tire” 

tire dealers must provide notification to the public sector via signs, made available by the department, 

indicating that: 

 

1. “It is unlawful for any person to dispose, discard, burn, or otherwise release waste tires to the 

environment in a manner in contravention to the Louisiana Solid Waste Regulations. A fine of up 

to $32,500 per day, per violation may be imposed on any company or individual who violates 

these rules and regulations.” 

 

2. “All Louisiana tire dealers, other than qualified scrap or salvage yard tire dealers selling tires 

salvaged from a Louisiana-titled vehicle, are required to collect a waste tire cleanup and recycling 

fee from the consumer of $2 for each passenger/light truck tire, $5 for each medium truck tire, 

and $10 for each off-road tire, upon sale of each tire.  These fees shall be collected upon 

replacement of all recall and adjustment tires.  This fee must be collected whether or not the 

purchaser retains the waste tires.  No fee shall be collected on tires weighing more than 500 

pounds or solid tires.  Tire dealers must accept from the purchaser, at the time of sale, one waste 

tire for every tire sold, unless the purchaser elects to retain the waste tire.” 

 

3. “Qualified scrap or salvage yard tire dealers are only exempt on tires salvaged from Louisiana-

titled vehicles through June 30, 2008.  Any tire sold by qualified scrap or salvage yard tire dealers 

that are not salvaged from Louisiana-titled vehicles shall have the appropriate fees collected upon 

the sale”. 

 

In accordance with LAC 33:VII.10521.D, “Standards and Responsibilities of Motor Vehicle Dealers” 

motor vehicle dealers must provide notification to the public via a sign, made available by the department, 

indicating that: 

 

“All Louisiana Motor Vehicle Dealers selling new vehicles are required to collect a waste tire 

cleanup and recycling fee from the consumer of $2 for passenger/light truck tire, $5 for each 

medium truck tire, and $10 for each off-road tire, upon sale of each new motor vehicle.  These 

fees shall also be collected upon replacement of all recall and adjustment tires.  This fee must be 

collected whether or not the purchasers retain the waste tires.  No fee shall be collected on tires 

weighing more than 500 pounds, solid tires, or on the designated spare tire.  Tire dealers must 

accept from the purchaser, at the time of sale, one waste tire for every tire sold, unless the 

purchaser elects to retain the waste tire.” 

 

Note:  “Tire Dealer” refers to those dealers who engage in the retail sale of new and used tires. 

 

Note:  “Motor Vehicle Dealer” refers to any person, business or firm registered with the state of  

Louisiana that engages in the commercial sale of new motor vehicles. 


