Cuauck CArr Brown, PH.D.

Joun BEL EDWARDS
SECRETARY

GOVERNOR

State of Louigiana

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES

Tire Customer Notice
Revised 3/15/2016

In accordance with LAC 33:VIL10519.F, “Standards and Responsibilities of Waste Tire Generators and
Sellers of Tires,” tire dealers shall prominently display to the public sector the notification provided by

the administrative authority indicating that:

1. "It is unlawful for any person to dispose, discard, burn, or otherwise release waste tires to the
environment in a manner in contravention to the Louisiana Solid Waste Regulations. A fine of up to
$32,500 per day per violation may be imposed on any company or individual who violates these rules and

regulations."

2. "All Louisiana tire dealers are required to collect a waste tire cleanup and recycling fee from the
consumer at the time of the retail sale of $2 for each passenger/light truck tire, $5 for each medium truck
tire, $10 for each off-road tire, and $1.25 for recapped or retreaded tires. These fees shall also be collected
upon replacement of all recall and adjustment tires. Tire fee categories are defined in the Waste Tire
Regulations. This fee must be collected whether or not the purchaser retains the waste tires. Tire dealers
must accept from the purchaser, at the time of sale, one waste tire for every tire sold, unless the purchaser
elects to retain the waste tire. The department does not require the collection of fees on the sale of tires
weighing 500 pounds or more, solid tires, or tires which are de minimis in nature, including but not
limited to lawn mower tires, bicycle tires, and golf cart tires."

In accordance with LAC 33:VIL10521.F, “Standards and Responsibilities of Sellers of Motor Vehicle,”
motor vehicle dealers shall prominently display to the public the notification provided by the
administrative authority, indicating that:

“All Louisiana motor vehicle dealers selling new vehicles are required to collect a waste tire
cleanup and recycling fee from the consumer of $2 for each passenger/light truck tire, $5 for
each medium truck tire, and $10 for each off-road tire, upon the sale of each new motor vehicle.
These fees shall also be collected upon replacement of all recall and adjustment tires. No fee
shall be collected on the designated spare tire. The department does not require the collection of
fees on the sale of tires weighing 500 pounds or more, solid tires, or tires which are de minimis
in nature, including but not limited to lawn mower tires, bicycle tires, and golf cart tires.”

Note: “Tire Dealer” refers to those dealers who engage in the retail sale of new and used tires, as
defined in LAC 33:VIL.10505.

Note: “Motor Vehicle Dealer” refers to any person, business or firm registered with the state of
Louisiana that engages in the commercial sale or lease of new motor vehicles, as defined in LAC

33:VIIL.10505.
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