EMERGENCY RULE/November 7, 2006 SWO041E1
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of the Secretary
Legal Affairs Division

Construction and Demolition Debris Tonnage Fee
(LAC 33:VI11.529) (SW041E1)

In accordance with the emergency provision of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:953(B), which allows the Department of Environmental Quality to use emergency procedures to
establish rules, and under the authority of R.S. 30:2011, the secretary of the department hereby
declares that an emergency action is necessary to secure additional funding to support the
department’s continued surveillance and oversight activities to prevent improper disposal of solid
waste in order to protect the public health and the environment.

This is a renewal of Emergency Rule SWO041E, which was effective on July 10, 2006, and
published in the Louisiana Register on July 20, 2006. Hurricanes Katrina and Rita of 2005 produced
an extraordinary amount of waste that is being handled as construction or demolition debris. This has
enlarged a pre-existing lack of adequate funding for surveillance of landfills permitted to accept
construction or demolition debris collected from these facilities. Prior to Act 718 of the 2006 Regular
Session of the Louisiana Legislature, there was no source of funding for the department to finance
the additional surveillance and oversight necessary to assure the proper cleanup and disposal of this
waste. This Emergency Rule implements the provisions of Act 718 of the 2006 Regular Session of
the Louisiana Legislature regarding the imposition of a $0.20 per ton fee assessed on construction or
demolition debris deposited in a facility permitted as a construction or demolition debris landfill.
Permitted, as defined in the regulations (LAC 33:VI1.115), in brief, is any written authorization
issued by the administrative authority. Written authorizations include, but are not limited to,
standard permits, temporary disposal site authorizations, orders to upgrade, or orders to close. This
fee will apply to construction or demolition debris which is subject to a fee imposed by the facility.
Submittal of the fee is not due to the department until the invoicing for Fiscal Year 2007-2008.
Recordkeeping of data on which invoicing will be based begins on July 1, 2006. The department has
begun rulemaking to promulgate this regulation change.

This Emergency Rule is effective on November 7, 2006, and shall remain in effect for a
maximum of 120 days or until a final rule is promulgated, whichever occurs first. For more
information concerning SWO041E1 you may contact the Regulation Development Section at (225)
219-3550.

This Emergency Rule is available on the Internet at www.deg.louisiana.gov/
portal/tabid/1669/default.aspx, and is available for inspection at the following DEQ office locations
from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 Highway 546, West
Monroe, LA 71292; State Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 1301
Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 111 New Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 110
Barataria Street, Lockport, LA 70374; 645 N. Lotus Drive, Suite C, Mandeville, LA 70471.

Adopted this 1st day of November, 2006.

Mike D. McDaniel, Ph.D.
Secretary
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EMERGENCY RULE/November 7, 2006 SWO041E1

Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Part VII. Solid Waste
Subpart 1. Solid Waste Regulations
Chapter 5. Solid Waste Management System
Subchapter D. Solid Waste Fees

8529. Annual Monitoring and Maintenance Fee
A.-B.2b. ...

C. for construction or demolition debris deposited at permitted
construction or demolition debris facilities (Type Il facilities), $0.20/ton; and the fee is only
applicable to construction or demolition debris that is subject to a fee imposed by the facility;

ed. for surface impoundments, no tonnage fee;

de. for publicly operated facilities that treat domestic sewage sludge,

no tonnage fee; and
ef. for Type I-A, 1I-A, 111 (except construction or demolition debris
disposal facilities), and beneficial-use facilities, no tonnage fee.

B.3.-G. ...

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 30:2001 et seq and
specifically 2014(D)(5).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Environmental Quality,

Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993),
amended by the Office of Management and Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 22:18
(January 1996), LR 25:427 (March 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment,
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:689 (May 2003), LR 29:2051 (October 2003),
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 32:**,



