# **Operator Training FAQs:**

### Q. When a UST owner leases a store, is the UST owner or is the lessee responsible for complying for the Operator Training requirements?

**A.** Actually both, the UST owner and facility operator. The definition of UST owner in the Louisiana UST regulations lists both the UST owner and UST operator as owner. LDEQ allows the UST owner and lessee to decide amongst themselves as a business decision who will comply with the regulations. As long as one complies, it is considered compliance by all.

#### Q. Can an owner designate a person to represent them as Class A or B Operator?

A. Yes. A UST owner may designate someone to operate as their Class A or B Operator.

## Q. Does Louisiana allow reciprocity? Can someone take a course in another state and be recognized as a certified UST operator in Louisiana?

**A.** Not at this time. All Louisiana owners and operators must take the Louisiana-specific Operator Training Seminar for Class A and B Operators. Registration information is at www.PetroClassroom.com.

### Q. Can a third party contractor serve as a Class A or B Operator for a facility? And if so, is there a limit to the number of facilities that person can be operator for?

**A.** Yes. A third party contractor can serve as either a Class A Operator, Class B Operator, or both, at the designation of the UST owner. Louisiana UST regulations do not limit the number of facilities that a person can be a certified operator for.

#### Q. Can a third party provide training for Class A or B Operators in Louisiana?

**A.** No. All Class A and B Operators must complete the Department-sponsored training course. Registration information is at <u>www.PetroClassroom.com</u>.

## Q. If someone took the LDEQ Expedited Penalty Course, can that serve as the Class A or B Operator Training Course?

**A.** No. The LDEQ Expedited Penalty Course was geared for non-compliance training, and does not contain all of the information needed to meet the Energy Act Operator Training requirements.

#### Q. What was the deadline for taking the Class A and B Operator Training seminar?

**A.** All UST owners and Operators, or their designees, should have taken the seminar before August 8, 2012.

#### Q. After August 8, 2012, how long does a new Class A or B Operator have to take the training?

**A.** After August 8, 2012, new Class A or B Operators have to complete the training within 30 days of assuming Class A or B Operator responsibility.

#### Q. Is there a re-training requirement for certified Class A or B Operators?

**A.** Yes. Certified class A or B Operators must be re-trained every 3 years. If the facility is found to be non-compliant, LDEQ may require re-training prior to the 3-year re-training date.

#### Q. How can I get a replacement Class A, B, or C certificate?

A. Contact Louisiana Compliance Services in order to obtain replacement certificates

#### Louisiana Compliance Services:

*Email:* <u>lomcsa@lomcsa.com</u> or <u>cinde@lomcsa.com</u>

*Fax:* 225-926-7722

*Address:* Louisiana Compliance Services, LLC 5647 Bankers Avenue Baton Rouge, LA 70808

## **Class C Questions**

#### Q. Do site-specific emergency procedures have to be posted at the facility?

**A.** Yes. Site-specific emergency procedures must be posted at the UST facility where the Class C Operator can see them. They must include site-specific emergency procedures, the location of emergency shut-off devices, and appropriate emergency contact numbers.

Important contact numbers that must be included: For non-emergency conditions, contact LDEQ Single Point of Contact at (225) 219-3640. For emergency conditions, contact Louisiana Department of Public Safety Hotline at (225) 925-6595.

### **Q.** Is a Class C certificate issued by a Class C provider at the end of online training acceptable, or is a state-issued certificate required?

**A.** Class C Certificates must be issued by Louisiana. To obtain certificates, the Class A or B Operator must submit the name of the person, date trained, and UST owner information for their trained Class C operators to Louisiana Compliance Services at the contact information listed below in order to obtain a Class C certificate. For UST owners that have facilities that are registered with different owner names but all are the same owner, please submit all names to ensure that the Class C operator may work at any of the facilities without having to be re-trained.

Certificates must be kept either at the UST facility or an alternate location and made available upon request by an inspector. LDEQ will also keep a database of all trained Class C operators as a back-up.

#### Louisiana Compliance Services:

Email: lomcsa@lomcsa.com or cinde@lomcsa.com

Fax: 225-926-7722

*Address:* Louisiana Compliance Services, LLC 5647 Bankers Avenue Baton Rouge, LA 70808

#### Q. What was the deadline for training Class C Operators?

**A.** All Class C Operators should have been trained by August 8, 2012.

#### Q. After August 8, 2012, how long does a new hire have to take the Class C training?

**A.** After August 8, 2012, someone has to be trained prior to beginning unsupervised responsibility for responding to emergencies at a UST facility (being a Class C Operator).

#### Q. Must all store clerks become Class C Operators?

**A.** There must be at least one Class C Operator on site at all times at a manned facility. It is best to train all clerks as Class C Operators, but it is not mandatory if there is someone else at the facility at all times that will respond to emergencies.

### Q. If the store owner/operator is a certified Class A/B Operator and is at the store at all times, does that person have to have a Class C certificate also?

**A.** No. The Class A/B training seminar in Louisiana includes training in Class C information, therefore any certified Class A/B Operator in Louisiana is also a certified Class C Operator.

#### Q. Who can train Class C Operators?

**A.** Anyone that the Class A or B Operator allows can train a Class C Operator. LDEQ UST regulations allows the Class A or B to decide on what type of training their C Operators will take.

### Q. If performing the training in person, does it have to be the Class A or B or can they designate someone else, such as a store manager, to provide the Class C training?

**A.** Class A or B Operators may designate someone else, such as a store manager, to train the Class C Operators.

#### Q. Do site-specific emergency procedures have to be posted at the facility?

**A.** Yes. Site-specific emergency procedures must be posted at the UST facility where the Class C Operator can see them. They must include site-specific emergency procedures, the location of emergency shut-off devices, and appropriate emergency contact numbers.

Q. Can Class C Operators take an online course for C training, and does the Class C course have to be approved by LDEQ?

**A.** Class C Operators can take an online course for Class C training. LDEQ does not have to approve the content of the Class C training course. The Class A or B Operator can choose whatever training course they want in whatever format they want for Class C training.

#### Q. If there a list of online Class C training providers?

**A.** Yes. Below is a list of online Class C training providers. This is not an exhaustive list, and any Class C training provider can get their training on this list by contacting Samuel Broussard at 337-262-5744 or *Samuel.broussard@la.gov*.

www.myoperatortraining.com w	4) PASS <u>www.passtesting.com</u> 366-735-0201
www.tait.com	6) Eclipse, A Division of ECS, Inc. <u>www.ecseclipse.com</u> www.//training.ecseclipse.com
<u>www.mytitan.net</u> w 615-372-6000 Ext. 316 w	8) Seneca Companies <u>www.senecaco.com</u> <u>www.onlineoperatortraining.com</u> 300-369-3456

(9) Antea Groupwww.apioperatortraining.com888-951-3456

(10) BLR Business & Legal Resources, Inc. <u>NTeolis@BLR.com</u> 860-510-0100 Ext. 2108

(11) Varec, Inc.5834 Peachtree Corners EastNorcross (Atlanta), Georgia 30092

www.varec.com

\* Please note that the training is only available to DOD personnel and can only be accessed by personnel possessing a DOD identification card.

https://fastracker.desc.dla.mil/Training/DUSTO Trng/